Our Town

Please direct inquiries to: Dr. Caroline Pate-Hefty, cpatehefty@wwusd.org 


WHS Players Set to Present an American Classic and Dedicate Auditorium to Long-Time Board Member

WHITEWATER, WI — Whitewater High School (WHS) Players will be presenting Thornton Wilder’s American Classic Our Town, February 29 - March 3, 2024 in the newly named James M. Stewart Auditorium. This timeless drama is about life in the small New Hampshire town of Grover’s Corners.   This Pulitzer Prize-winning play is considered by many to be the greatest American play ever written. This show has something for all ages.

As a part of this event, the Whitewater Unified School District (WUSD) invites the community to the dedication of the high school’s auditorium to long-time WUSD school board member James (Jim) M. Stewart. The dedication will take place Saturday, March 2, at 5:30 p.m., before the performance. 

Stewart was elected to the WUSD School Board in 1981 and served for nearly 27 years. He continued to serve until his passing in November 2021. During his tenure on the board, he served as board president for six years, vice president for two years, and treasurer for six years. Jim’s legacy extends far beyond the boardroom, as he impacted the lives of countless students, parents, and educators alike through his service. 

“Jim left an indelible mark on our community and his legacy will continue to inspire future generations of students and families,” said Dr. Caroline Pate-Hefty, Superintendent. “Having the community come together in Jim’s honor is a great way to memorialize his legacy and celebrate the time, energy, and passion that he gave to the betterment of our students. It will surely be a special day for our school district community.”

The production of Our Town is being sponsored by a generous contribution from the Coburn family and is under the direction of Jim McCulloch and technical direction of Kat Dunham. Cast members include: Marina Linos, A’lani Ross, Brooke Mason, Payton Bunger, David Enns, Alex Clarksen, Taylor Speerbrecher, Haley Keltesch, Sam Nickelsburg, Hayleigh Pond, Deven Bawden, Chacha Binagi, Ava Van Daele, Ayden Clark, Grace Coleman, Esteban Diaz-Gallegos, Willow Vogelzang and Alex Sullivan.

Students working behind the scenes as stage managers, customers and set builders include: Kara Long, Gabi Kirley, Alexsa Cansino-Pena, Matt Zingsheim, Ace Hudec, Ava Nygren, Lucy Troxel, Miles Nickelsburg, Taiya Kolb, Rae Breisath, Kayla Mikos, Josh Nygren, Payton Peacock and Sami Van Daele.

In the true spirit of Our Town, WHS Players has partnered with the Whitewater Historical Society to present Streets of Whitewater. A detailed collection of historic photographs, rarely-seen artifacts, and stories of the early days of our own town will be on display before each performance. So, come early and experience a bit of our heritage.

Performances of Our Town will be held at Whitewater High School, in the James M. Stewart Auditorium, located at 534 S. Elizabeth Street, on February 29 - March 2 at 7:00 p.m. and March 3 at 2:00 p.m. General admission tickets are $10 for adults and $7 for students and can be purchased at the door or by calling the box office at 262-472-8178.  The house will open one hour prior before performance.


Note to Editor: A photo of James M. Stewart can be found here. A flyer for WHS’s spring play is available here.